LIPSTICK JUDY AND THE LOST SWEATER PART III

LIPSTICK JUDY AND THE LOST SWEATER by Zisa Moglen  FINAL

Lipstick Judy turned the color of her red lipstick.  She was livid. “I am going to see the mayor about my lost sweater.”

She marched to City Hall, across the street from the downtown bus terminal.

“I want my lost sweater brought here to the Mayor’s Office.  I cannot spend hours going back and forth to Lost and Found.”

Several days later, the lost sweater was returned to Lipstick Judy who went to the Mayor’s Office to retrieve it. 

But that is not the end of the story.  When I lost my cashmere scarf, I decided to do the “Lipstick Judy trick.”  In other words, I made a request to the Mayor’s Office.  Send the lost cashmere scarf and I will pick it up at City Hall—just like Lipstick Judy did.  Voila!

NOTE:

The Mayor’s receptionist smiled at the woman before her. She knew Lipstick Judy because she was a visitor to the mayor’s office at least twice a week to complain about something.  Lipstick Judy’s request was granted.

 

______________________________________________________________

Lipstick Judy — known for her smeared red lips and lipstick that reached her nose and chin– lost her sweater on the bus in Colorado Springs.  

 “Did you find my sweater?” she asked the bus driver.

“Yes,” he said.   I found it last night and put it with other lost articles of clothing in the Lost and Found Department.

“Where is that?” Lipstick Judy asked.

“Oh that’s easy, take this bus to the bus lot about fifteen minutes from here,” the bus driver said. 

“I AM NOT GOING THERE…It is an hour wait to get a bus back to here,” she screamed. .

“Ma’am, it is not my fault where the Lost Found is….Don’t scream at me.”

LIpstick Judy was livid with anger.  “I am going to see the mayor about this.”

She marched to City Hall, across the street from the downtown bus terminal.  

“I want my lost sweater brought here to the Mayor’s office.  I cannot spend hours going back and forth to Lost and Found.” Several days passed.  Lipstick Judy got a phone call from the Mayor’s receptionist and told her that her sweater was waiting for her at City Hall. 

But that is not the end of the story.

Several months later, I lost my cashmere scarf on the bus in Colorado Springs.  Like Lipstick Judy, I did not want to spend hours on public buses away from the downtown bus terminal.  I walked to the Mayor’s office and asked the receptionist at the desk about sending my cashmere scarf from the Lost and Found to the Mayor’s Office.

“If Lipstick Judy can do this, so can I,” I said.

My cashmere scarf appeared at the Mayor’s Office several days later.

 

 

Leave a Reply

