Tree of the day: Weeping Willow Tree

Willow, weep for me.  How poetic is the willow tree.  It shades and protects lovers who sit near the stream nearby.  Its greenery is so fine and shady.

I associate the word “willowy” with the actress Audrey Hepburn.  She was so elegant.  When she appeared in the movie, “Breakfast at Tiffanys,” I was a teenager.  I was so impressed with his willowy (and gaunt) stature.  Immediately, I went to Saks Fifth Avenue in Manhattan and purchased a big black straw hat! (The fashions by Givenchy and Balenciaga were too expensive for me to purchase, however).

No, I do not look like her nor do I possess her willowy frame.  Willow, weep for me…..

Zisa Moglen

July 24, 2014

One thought on “Tree of the day: Weeping Willow Tree

Leave a Reply

